Call for Papers

Third International Conference on Language Attrition (ICLA3)

University of Essex, Colchester

July 5 – July 7, 2016

Call Deadline extended to: 30 November 2015

Very generally, language attrition can be defined as changes in Language A which arise upon increasing dominance of Language B. Indeed, a growing body of research suggests that the L1 is susceptible to change upon acquisition of an L2 in late sequential bilingualism, generally referred to as L1 attrition (Schmid & Köpke, 2007). New research is successfully building on this understanding that the L1 is malleable even in adulthood and pursuing attrition research across the life-span within the wider context of multilingualism (e.g. through also examining L2 and/or L3 attrition). The aim of ICLA3 is to bring together researchers from around the world who are advancing our understanding of language attrition.
We welcome conversations with colleagues from such diverse fields as neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, ethnolinguistics, theoretical linguistics, and language policy. Established scholars, early career researchers and postgraduate students working on language attrition research are invited to submit abstracts to the 3rd International Conference on Language Attrition, which will be held at the University of Essex from July 5 to July 7, 2016.
A panel of expert reviewers will choose abstracts for talks (30-minute talks, 20 minutes presentation plus 10 minutes discussion) and posters. Abstracts should be a maximum of 1 page in length in Times New Roman (12 point) including tables and references. Please, include the title, the name(s) of author(s) and their affiliation(s).

Submission deadline is 30 November 2015.

Notification of acceptance/rejection will be communicated by 15 January 2016.

Submission is now closed.

Plenary speakers

Jubin Abutalebi
Merel Keijzer
Judy Kroll
Silvina Montrul
Karsten Steinhauer

Conference organisers
Monika Schmid (University of Essex)
Esther de Leeuw (Queen Mary University of London)
Laura Dominguez (University of Southampton)
Elena Schmitt (Southern Connecticut State University)



  1. essex_logo
  2. ladeli_logo
  3. 8-2754esrc-logo[3]